Perhaps he was right, perhaps she didn’t belong here.

“As I’ve said before Lilah, you’re welcome to stay here for now…”

He stopped short, choosing his next words wisely.

“But I do have a family to take care of, a business to run. My own life to live…” He pauses a moment, stroking his clean shaven chin before continuing. “What I really mean Lilah, Is that we have built separate lives, and the one I have for myself right now– you are not part of the equation. I suggest after this is all over you leave. If it’s money you want that is no problem”.

She sat motionless. His words played over and over again in her blank mind. This could not be the man her mother had been so enamored with.  Here she was, age twenty two and three international flights away from home. She thought she’d meet a father for the first time.

“I don’t know what to say”, flustered she toyed with the ten carat gold ring on her finger. “I didn’t quite come here for you money, nor to cause you distress for that matter. I simply came here to meet you–my father”.

She peered up from beneath long lashes, regretting doing so as she met with the repulsive look he shot her.

“Well Lilah, you made a mistake by coming here. It’s too late for me to try being a father to you now”.

His cold response was the slap in the face she’d been dreading. Eyes downcast, her tiny whisper almost inaudible she walked towards the exit.

“I’m sorry, I’m sorry for coming here. Goodbye”.

Without a backward glance she slipped out the door, gently locking it behind her. As soon as the lock clicked, a wave of immeasurable sadness washed over her. She dropped to the floor sobbing uncontrollably. The pain of being unloved was all too intense.

