I wrote you a love letter– I wasn’t brave enough to mail it,
I wrote you a love poem–I was terrified to share it.
I wrote your name across my heart–but somehow I smeared it.
This thing called love–I must admit I fear it.
Fear destroys things– beautiful things–like love.
I desire your attention,
Your affection–I crave it.

I saw you –I wanted to say hi, I didn’t chance it.
I’m sure that in a perfect world, Another time,
Another place–we’d get pass it.
I’m sure deep down you’re ready to reject “it”.
Reject my apologies,
Reject my apologies of how much I regret “it”,
Reject me–the same way I rejected you.

I wrote you a love letter,
I promise I’ll save it–until I figure out how and when I can repair “it”.
The truth is,
I love you–a simple and honest love,
The truth is,
I miss you–in a most honest and simple way.
I made a mistake–a mistake of trust.
I don’t trust myself– to trust,
So I walk away before I let myself fall prey to trust”

Maybe I should write myself a letter–a love letter, but not a “love letter”,
Promising myself that I will be better.
Maybe that will make “it” better.
So much better for when I’m brave enough to show you my love letter.